Guantanamo Judge’s Torture Call Taints Entire Facility

Predictably, Judge Susan Crawford’s decision that the abusive treatment inflicted on one Gitmo detainee – Mohammad al Qahtani – in fall of 2002 fit her definition of “torture” has reinforced widely held perceptions that the entire operation is a torture factory.

By her judgment that al Qahtani was tortured, Crawford allowed anti-Guantanamo critics to paint with a broad brush. They leapt upon her statement to assume that all detainees have been tortured and demand release upon those grounds.

In today’s LA Times, perennial Gitmo critic Carol Williams notes that defense attorneys now call for all charges to be dropped because some of the 22 men now awaiting trial were tortured.

It is a short step between insisting charges be dropped and demanding outright release.

That some of these men in the docket are among the most brilliant, efficient terrorists in history is a salient fact that seems to elude those who are eager to condemn the US for the existence of Guantanamo.

Opponents “urged [Crawford] to clear the controversial court’s slate before the Tuesday inauguration of President-elect Barack Obama, who has vowed to shut Guantanamo as one of his first actions,” Williams noted.

Obama, who readers of this post recognize is beginning to come to terms with what dangerous men are confined at Guantanamo, has already indicated that closure will “take time” perhaps a year or longer.

Such a delay is certain to evoke sharp criticism from supporters who believe that closure will be instantaneous upon his inauguration.

The debate over the fate of the Guantanamo detainees is heating up and will grow more bitter as new administration officials recognize the harsh fact that they are now responsible for national security.

Shortly they will become the target for critics of Guantanamo and of the war when they understand fully that they must deal with the realities that come with fighting it effectively.

21 Responses to “Guantanamo Judge’s Torture Call Taints Entire Facility”

  1. Yankeemom Says:

    […] The media, for the most part, has painted the situation at Gitmo as a black hole of torture and abuse for the poor “victimized” detainees who have resided there and the troops who are deployed there as worse than any “Jack Bauers” could be.  And certain Judges aren’t helping get at the truth either, as facts seem to be subjective to these individuals. […]

  2. Wayne Wine Illustrations Says:

    Heya, I’m blogger as you, and wanted to ask, since Googles Penguin Update, my site gets nowhere found these days 😦 However when i searched for Guantanamo Judges Torture Call Taints Entire Facility | Inside Gitmo Blog your website was on the 1st page. Care to share any recommendations with me? I personally use only DuckDuckGo as internet search engine due to the fact Google screwed almost all up. DuckDuckGo is similar to Google before they decided to prefer only the big monster sites!

  3. Silky Stockings Discounts Says:

    Some genuinely prime posts on this internet site, saved to bookmarks.

  4. Zane Says:

    Hey, I am new to running a blog and internet sites in general and was curious about
    how you got the “www” included in your web address name?
    I see your web address, “https://insidegitmo.wordpress.com/2009/01/17/guantanamo-judges-torture-call-taints-entire-facility/”
    has the www and my web address looks like, “http://mydomain.com”.
    Do you know the way I can alter this? I’m using WordPress. Warm regards

  5. Agueda Says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?

    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it

  6. Sexy Stiletto Heels Says:

    My coder is trying to persuade me to move to Ruby on Rails from
    PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s trying none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on a number of websites
    for about 7 months and i am concerned about switching to an alternative program.

    I have heard very good things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it?

    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  7. delightful Knockers Says:

    Hi! It appears as though we both have a passion for the same thing.
    Your blog, “Guantanamo Judges Torture Call Taints Entire Facility | Inside Gitmo Blog” and mine are very
    similar. Have you ever considered authoring a guest post for a similar website?
    It will unquestionably help gain publicity to your blog (my website recieves
    a lot of visitors). If you might be interested,
    email me at: kirbymcallister@gmail.com.
    Appreciate it

  8. Models Blowing Cock Says:

    Hey there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of
    volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.

    You have done a outstanding job!

  9. Kathryn Says:

    Hiya! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks strange when browsing from my apple iphone I’m trying
    to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix
    this issue. If you have any suggestions, please inform me.
    Thank you!

  10. Kathy Says:

    I’m starting up a new online website directory and was wondering if I can submit your site? I’m hoping to mature my directory
    gradually by hand so that it maintains high
    quality. I will make sure and put your blog in the correct category and
    I’ll also use, “Guantanamo Judges Torture Call Taints Entire Facility | Inside Gitmo Blog” as your anchor text. Make sure you let me know if this is ok with you by mailing me at: kathyclanton@gmail.com. Bless you

  11. Dicke Klitoris Says:

    Hey there. I’m wondering if you may be interested in doing a website link swap? I notice your website: https://insidegitmo.wordpress.com/2009/01/17/guantanamo-judges-torture-call-taints-entire-facility/ and my blog are centered around the same topic. I’d love to switch
    links or perhaps guest author a article for
    you. Here is my personal contact: billie.new@snail-mail.

    net. Please make sure to contact me if you’re even remotely interested. Thank you.

  12. Willing Babes Images Says:

    Hey there! I hope you’ll be able to answer my question. I’m interested in a premium WP theme, however
    I have no idea how to tell if the one I choose will be works with cellular phones.
    What are some tips you can give me about what to look for with regards to
    colors and background and issues like that?
    I normally look at websites via my pda, and I’m going to wager that many folks are just like me in that way. Oops, i went a bit off topic, sorry. Appreciated the blog post thou.

  13. Adult Videos Says:

    We have gone ahead and included a hyperlink back
    to your web site from one of my clients requesting it.
    I have used your website URL: http://insidegitmo.
    wordpress.com/2009/01/17/guantanamo-judges-torture-call-taints-entire-facility/ and blog title: Guantanamo Judges Torture Call Taints Entire Facility | Inside Gitmo Blog to ensure you get the proper anchor text.
    If you woud like to check out where your hyperlink
    has been placed, please e-mail me at: werner_brim@aol.
    com. Thanks a lot

  14. forums.sycophanthex.com Says:

    Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any
    problems with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked
    and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  15. Deflorate it in my Back door Says:

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m
    not writing all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  16. Massive Labia Says:

    Howdy I am so grateful I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I
    was searching on for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to
    go through it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please
    do keep up the awesome jo.

  17. Lynell Says:

    Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, wonderful
    blog!

  18. Demetrius Says:

    Hey are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.

    Do you require any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  19. hoak Says:

    Thanks for any other beneficial web page. The area else can I get in which style of details developed in a real perfect approach? I own a undertaking that I am just now working away at, and i also happen to be in the start looking away intended for such data.

  20. buy Bitcoins with hacked Paypal Says:

    buy Bitcoins with hacked Paypal

    Guantanamo Judge’s Torture Call Taints Entire Facility | Inside Gitmo Blog

  21. Virtual Girl Striptease Says:

    The English word Girl Striptease girl first appeared during the Middle Ages between 1250 and 1300 CE and hot girl originated from the Anglo-Saxon word gerle (also spelled girle or gurle). [3] The Anglo-Saxon word gerela significance gown or clothing item likewise appears to have actually been utilized as a metonym in some sense. [1]Lady has indicated any young unmarried woman since about 1530. Its very first kept in mind significance for sweetie is 1648. The earliest recognized look of girl-friend remains in 1892 and woman next door, implied as a teenaged woman or young woman with a sort of wholesome appeal, dates just to 1961. [4] Usage for adults The word woman is sometimes utilized to refer to an adult female, normally a younger one. This usage may be thought about negative or disrespectful in professional or other official contexts, just as the term young boy can be thought about disparaging when applied to an adult man. For this reason, this usage is often deprecative. [1] It can also be utilized deprecatively when used to discriminate against kids (“you’re just a girl”). In casual context, the word has favorable uses, as evidenced by its use in titles of music. It has actually been utilized playfully for individuals acting virtua girl in an energetic style (Canadian vocalist Nelly Furtado’s “Promiscuous Girl”) or as a method of unifying women of all ages on the basis of their once having actually been women (American nation vocalist Martina McBride’s “This One’s for the Girls”). These favorable uses suggest gender rather than age.

Leave a Reply

